Analysis of Top Moonlord/Marauder Build (From Korea)

DNB: I would like to emphasize that this build is extracted from the Korea event, and it is not meant to be an exact 100% good skill build. As you can see from the title, it is an analysis.

Before going into the analysis, I will show you the new 2nd advancement skills for Moonlord/Marauder. Credits to chaose5 from MMOsite forum.

  • Moon Blade Dance: Junp and deal quick 5 diagonal slashes in the air. Single hit mag dmg 116.4%+202. Cd 19sec at Lv2.
  • Moonlight Splinter EX: Enhanced version of moonlight splinter, with additional 30% AOE damage.
  • Flash Stance: Drawing the sword quickly to launch long range attack by left-clicking.Single hit mag dmg 56%+602. Right-click to cast a heavy damage final blow and cancel the stance. CD 50sec at Lv1. Duration 7sec.

Without further ado, let’s take a look at the top Moon Lord skill build voted in Korea.

While writing this post, I realise that I made some mistakes and missed out some pointers on my Magic Hybrid Sword Master skill build. I have already made some changes so you may want to read it again. In this post, I will go about discussing probable reasons why certain skills are added or ignored and their feasibility.

This build basically focuses more on magic attack skills and ignores most of the physical track.

Warrior Skills

  • Circle Break – This skill is ignored in the build. For me, I will most likely ignore this skill as well because of its low damage and the debuffing ability is not that great as well. Besides, being a magic type attacker, Circle Break is a physical skill which is not wise to invest into. In the Sword Master build I have written, I didn’t consider the 2nd advancement issue yet. That is why the level of Moon Light Splinter is low as well.
  • Relieve – This skill was raised to level 5 because of the lower cooldown.
  • Physical Mastery/Mental Mastery/Mental Training – In this build, all 3 skills are max-ed. Personal preference again to see if you need SP else where. Probably Wave Impact? Increasing its range requires an additional 6 levels from lv 4. The required SP is quite high so you have to consider carefully.

Sword Master Skills

  • Moon Light Splinter – Lv 12 in this build. Lv 11 is required to unlock MLS EX. In my humble opinion, the damage improvement from that single additional level is not that great. If you need additional SP to gain access to Line Drive, this is a possible choice for you. Some people may argue that, increasing by one level gives 1% more damage for the skill. Having 3 waves means an additional 3% increased. Well, I agree as well. I didn’t do any testing so I won’t know the exact results too.
  • Cyclone Slash – Lv 6 in this build. In my own written Sword Master build, I mentioned about raising it to level 5 previously and did not see significant increase in the AOE. So I guess lv 6 is probably the required level to see significant results?
  • Crescent Cleave – Lv 8 in this build. The maximum level attainable at character level 50 is lv 9 for this skill. Mentioned before, this skill is a boss-killer. I guess the SP from this skill could have went to increase Parrying Stance for longer duration.
  • Half Moon Slash – Maxed at lv 7.
  • Parrying Stance – Maxed at lv 4 in this build. An additional duration of 6 seconds can be helpful as well.
  • Hemorrahage – Maxed at lv 8 in this build. Maximising debuffing capabilities.

If you need SP to gain access to Line Drive, there are some skills that I can recommend to be lowered. They are Parrying Stance, MLS EX, Cyclone Slash, Crescent Cleave and Half Moon Slash. However, I would not recommend to do this. You gain an additional of 2 attack skills in 2nd advancement. Probably, you won’t use much of the physical skills. Besides, if you look further ahead, there may be more skills coming up if Dragon Nest gets more updates like raising of level cap.

If you want Line Drive that badly, you may want to look at The Ultimate Moonlord Hybrid Guide on MMOsite. However, I don’t really like this build so I came up with my Hybrid Moonlord Build (10 SP left) that has Line Drive with some comments below.

  1. I don’t think Line Drive needs to be raised to lv 3. Your main attack is magic and when you advanced to Moonlord, you have 2 more attack skills. I rather put more SP in Hemorrahage to maximise debuff potential.
  2. I added Drop Kick in case you want some PvP action.
  3. Between Hemorrahage and Half Moon Slash, I chose both to be lv7 instead of lv8 in Hemorrahage and lv6 in Half Moon Slash to sort of balance things out. I guess either choice is fine.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.

Posted on August 3, 2011, in MoonLord/Marauder and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Hey I was wondering about this MoonLord build. Since its magic based skills is it beneficial to stack Intellect & + Magic Damage stats or strength & + physical damage? The reason i ask is because acrobat although melee has its skills treated as ranged attacks and benefits from AGI and +phys damage and not really from strength.

    Thanks for the input.

    • For MoonLord, all their attack skills in their respective track are primarily based on magic. So you will need INT+magic atk to buff up ur magic damage stats. You can look at the damage calculation of the respective skills in the skill simulator provided in the Useful Tools tab of the blog.

      As for acrobats, they benefit more from the AGI stat. AGI adds more to their attack, in addition, they add their critical as well.

  2. Nice guide but it seems a lil’ bit complex for beginner. Yeah, i am beginner. I am wondering the stated korean moon lord build is more advantageous in PVP or PVE? I had trouble understand the usage of some skills as I am still not familiar with dragon nest. Can you briefly explain about the basic or obvious different between PVP and PVE? Your guidance is very much appreciated. Thanks!

    • I would say it is better in PVE. In the build shown, Hacking Stance is not learned.. and it is a very good skill in PvP which renders the opponent not movable. As mentioned before, I don’t PvP much so I can’t give much guidance on it. But this build wouldn’t really do badly in PvP because most of the necessary skills are still learnt.

      In PvP one on one, you need to master how to juggle your opponents in the air. You can see various videos on youtube and determine what skills they are using. I am not knowledgeable in this area so I can’t help much. However in PvP mass fights, your magic skills are the ones that provide lots of AOE. At the same time, it also helps alot in PvE because of their big AOE to do well on mobs. However, the downside is that they knockback and spread the mobs out, which may make some players frustrated over it because gathering mobs together will make the team clear faster.

  3. Thanks man appreciate you clearing up the stat for me. Some of the stats don’t neccessarily make sense compared to other MMORPG’s I have played. Like I said since acro uses melee attacks but still benefits from agi more it can be confusing. I’m going to try this out and see how it goes!

  4. Thanks for the fast reply, much appreciated. Obviously, now need to decide the which path would suits me best, PVE or PVP. Alright, thanks again.

  5. Barbarian or MoonLord have are more likely to survive in Sea Dragon Nest?

  6. Is Hybrid build for PVP? or is there a pure pvp build?

    1. What skills are important in pvp? Passive and active.
    2. Are Sweeping and Waking attack are useful in pvp?
    3. Do you agree that Attuned mind, Parrying stance and Brush off must be maxed?
    4. Is a level 6 cyclone slash good? I heard some players level theirs to 6 so it is bigger.
    5. Why max Half moon slash, I know it is important in PVE how about in PVP?

    Sorry, I just started playing Dragon Nest SEA version, and really needs some help, Tnx 🙂

    • A hybrid build can be good for PvP because you have more options for skills. As for pure PvP build, I don’t know because I’ve mentioned before that I am not experienced in PvP.
      I will try answering some of your questions.
      1) Drop Kick, Impact Stab, Heavy Slash, Cyclone Slash, Wake-up Attack, Aerial Evasion, Moon Light Splitter, Hacking Stance, Countile Exile (There may be more but these are the ones Im pretty sure of.)
      2) I don’t know about Sweeping but some people say yes. Wake-up attack is a must-learn.
      4) Yes, at lv 6 the AOE is bigger. It may be good to disable your opponents in mass PvP.
      5) The AOE is very big. Probably good in mass fights. I am not really sure though. If you’re playing MoonLord, you will definitely get this skill anyway. Maybe good at KS-ing people with its high damage? haha

  7. 1. Level 6 Cyclone Slash or just leave it at 3? [PVP]
    2. Is Maxing Hemmorage good? or it would just waste SP? [PVP]
    3. Half moon slash, Max it or just leave it at level 3? [prerequisite skill for Great Wave] [PVP]

  8. Hi, I would like to request if you could have a Pure Magic Build layed out, please if you have a free time… ^-^ I’m new to the game so basically I don’t know which skills are Magic and which skills are Physical.

    Thank you in advance!!

    I would also like, if you could add somethings:
    1. Pure Magic Build. (Same level cap at Dragon Nest KR)
    2. Pros and Cons of being Pure.
    3. And If you could explain what skill does and why.

    • 1. Play around with the skill simulator provided in the Useful Tools page. Pure magic build will be just simply ignoring the physical track and using the SPs elsewhere. Looking at the swordmaster skill tree, the leftmost column is the physical one and the rightmost column is the magic one.
      2. Pros: Higher level of your main skills which give higher damage. More SP to spend on other skills. Cons: Not able to spam skills. May lose out because of not being able to learn the necessary skills.
      3. In this post, I already referred a link back to a Swordmaster guide. Please read that post because I already described the skills and what they do.

  9. i see 3 other skill below the sword master track what skill is it and what it is good? or not and what lvl can we learn it and what is the name of the skill can wee use in pvp or pve??

  10. sir is this buld a pure magic skill build?

  11. and wat should be the gears for this type..

  12. im following this path since i started playing DN but until now im wondering….. in armor if im going to craft should it be bear or intellect?

  13. excuse me sir..do you have to put all intellect in every part of equips??

    waiting for ur reply.

  14. Yeah. do I have to put intellect on all of my equips? hmmm..I’m following your build =)

Leave a comment